Thursday January 14th, 2016

A quick follow up to the Astonish item from yesterday.

I’d left both tubs on the counter top overnight and this morning I was deciding if I should just throw the old one away……the moon rock one remember ?!

I put off that decision and went to put both away; the new tub wouldn’t fit on the shelf so I put it on top of the cupboard.  I went to put the old tub back up ON the shelf but knocked it against the shelf top and it slipped out of my hand, straight down into the open bin below which in turn caused the bin lid to close after it !

Clearly fate had made the decision for me and who was I to disagree.  Bye bye “old friend”.

====================

The sad news this morning was the announcement of the death of Alan Rickman at 69 from pancreatic cancer. Coming on top of the shock death of David Bowie earlier in the week, we’ve lost two of the greats of British entertainment.

Personally I was never a fan of Bowie but I really liked Alan Rickman  and it helped that he seemed to have been a really nice guy in real life. As ever, there were many eulogies appearing from his friends and colleagues and it must be hard for them to know what to say that hasn’t been said by others. It’s also easy to dismiss them as overly mushy words trotted out by a load of luvvies.

But one eulogy stood out for me.  It came from Daniel Radcliffe, or Harry Potter if you like. Here was a young man who literally grew up, in acting terms, with Alan Rickman. As an impressionable child, he clearly adored Rickman and learned so much from him both in terms of acting and as a human being in a world where it’s sometimes hard to know where fantasy ends and reality begins.

This is what Daniel wrote about his friend…………

Alan Rickman is undoubtedly one of the greatest actors I will ever work with. He is also one of the loyalest and most supportive people I’ve ever met in the film industry. He was so encouraging of me both on set and in the years post-Potter. I’m pretty sure he came and saw everything I ever did on stage both in London and New York. He didn’t have to do that. I know other people who’ve been friends with him for much much longer than I have and they all say, “If you call Alan, it doesn’t matter where in the world he is or how busy he is with what he’s doing, he’ll get back to you within a day.”

People create perceptions of actors based on the parts they played, so it might surprise some people to learn that contrary to some of the sterner (or downright scary) characters he played, Alan was extremely kind, generous, self-deprecating and funny. And certain things obviously became even funnier when delivered in his unmistakable double-bass.

As an actor he was one of the first of the adults on Potter to treat me like a peer rather than a child. Working with him at such a formative age was incredibly important, and I will carry the lessons he taught me for the rest of my life and career. Film sets and theater stages are all far poorer for the loss of this great actor and man.

Well said young man.

RIP Alan.

Alan-Rickman

===================

When I watched Sunday’s Golden Globes, I noticed Mr. Robot was up for 3 awards and won 2, including Best TV Series, Drama.  This was a bit of a shock to me, considering it beat out Game of Thrones in this category.  It certainly got my attention.

And I’d never heard of it !

After checking it out, I started watching it today and after just a few minutes of the first episode I was hooked.  Rami Malek is suitably weird looking as the hacker with social anxiety disorder and seeing him on stage at the Golden Globes, it’s not a look just reserved for the show.  He just looks weird all the time.

Not a bad thing when you’re an actor.  Or a hacker.

I’m going to enjoy catching up with the next 9 episodes.

Leave a Reply

