Sunday February 7th, 2016

I knew that getting up early to watch a football game would come back to bite me later on today…..and I was right.

Well when I say early, I mean early for me.  It was at 11am and Barcelona were playing so I just had to watch.  17 hrs later I was wishing I’d stayed in bed and recorded it !

====================

After watching the game I went to Sainsburys to spend £10 or more.  If that sounds very specific, it was.  This was the last day of the 3 day Nectar offer from Sainsburys – spend £10 or more, swipe your card and you’d get a voucher for bonus points ranging from 200 to 5,000.  When I’d gone on Friday I’d got 200 (worth £1 so not quite life changing) but I needed a few basics today so I thought I’d give it another try.

I got 2,000 points (worth £10 so basically my shopping was free) so I was a happy bunny.

I’ve now got 94,939 points worth £474.70.

Hello, my name is Ian and I’m a hoarder.

====================

52 years ago today, a popular UK beat combo called The Beatles landed in New York and also did rather well over there.  Sadly only the lesser talented two remain alive today.

I’ve never been a great fan of The Beatles although I do like some of their early output.  Once they started smoking the wacky backy, met the Maharishi Mahesh Yogi (formally George Molloy from Milton Keynes) and went all transcendental on us, they lost the plot and I lost what little interest I had in them.

I had The Tremeloes after all.  A proper beat combo !

I’ve been listening to some of their albums lately….that’s The Beatles, not The Tremeloes. With my lifetime of worldly experience and a more mature attitude towards all forms of music, I’ve come to realise that my teenage appreciation of the works of this great band was……..perfectly accurate.

I still don’t like it, although the occasional tune isn’t too bad I suppose.

Like “Mother Nature’s Son” from The White Album. Despite being inspired by the Maharishi Mahesh Yogi, it’s less wacky, probably due to less backy.

If only there had been more like that, I might have been a fan.

=====================

By 11:30pm it was time for Superbowl 50, the Carolina Panthers v the Denver Broncos.

The Broncos.  MY Broncos.  With Payton Manning.  Woohoooo.

It was strange but from the get go, I was just sure that they’d win. I mean it WAS Payton Manning, probably playing his last game.  The stars or ducks or whatever were aligned.

It was meant to be.

Then at 12:30am, with the Broncos leading, the power went out.  No, not in the stadium but in my post code here in North Leeds and maybe beyond.  Total blackoutsville.  There have been 2 power outages in the last year and none in the previous 20 so maybe the wiring somewhere needs updating or maybe it was a pissed off Panther’s fan but the timing sucked.

Thankfully I had multiple mini torches spread around the house so I soon had lights-a-plenty.

But no broadband.  Waaaaaa !!

I rang the Northern Power Grid to be told they knew about it already and although they couldn’t be sure, they estimated that the power should be back by 2am.

I was able to watch the game on my phone but it wasn’t how I wanted to see SB50. Then at 01:06am the power returned and I was able to enjoy the Broncos victory in glorious HD again…..thanks to it being shown here on the BBC.  American Football with no adverts……surely how God intended it.

Manning

Finally a team I follow actually won something.  And became World Champions at that.  Yes, yes I know.  I’m usually the first to decry that sporting anomaly but not this time.

musical note   Championies, championies, oway, oway, owaymusical note

It’s been a long time since I’ve been able to chant that.

Are you listening Leeds United ?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

